Why you need a lawyer after a DUI arrest

There are many reasons why drivers who are arrested for drinking and driving should contact an attorney following the incident.

In Tennessee, and in all other states in the U.S. except Utah, it is illegal for drivers to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level at or above 0.08, states the Governors Highway Safety Association. Those who are arrested for drinking and driving because their BAC level exceeded the legal limit should have concerns about their future and what it holds for them financially and legally. Although the potential of a DUI conviction can be extremely intimidating, those arrested for impaired driving can ease their burden by working with an attorney for a few key reasons.

Knowledge of the system

Experienced DUI attorneys are familiar with the legal system in a way that most members of society are not because of their specialized training and experience. From the first few days following the arrest to hearings and the trial process, a DUI lawyer can guide those facing a conviction through each stage thanks to their knowledge of the legal system and how the process for DUI convictions works.

Expertise regarding driver rights

Not only are DUI lawyers trained to understand the legal system as it applies to those arrested for drunk driving, but they are also trained to be knowledgeable regarding the rights of drivers facing a potential conviction. Those who work with an attorney following a DUI arrest will have a professional on their side who knows how to protect their best interests both before court and throughout the rest of the legal process.

Defense against potential charges

Drinking and driving is a serious crime associated with significant consequences, even for a first offense. For example, those who are arrested for drinking and driving for the first time, according to the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security, have to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail and participate in an alcohol treatment program. A first-time offense also requires the offender to pay a fine ranging anywhere from $350 to $1,500 and undergo a year of license revocation.

DUI attorneys are responsible for minimizing the sentences of their clients to the best of their ability, and they may be familiar with helping drivers understand what they can do to reduce financial and legal harm following a DUI arrest.

Reach out to an attorney

While the prospect of a DUI conviction in Tennessee may be concerning, turning to an attorney following the arrest can ensure a driver's rights are fully protected. Those recently arrested for drinking and driving should reach out to an attorney in their area to find out more about how they can protect themselves during the upcoming legal process.