Among all of the states, Tennessee has some of the toughest penalties for DUI. A first DUI conviction generally results in a minimum of 48 hours in jail. If your blood-alcohol concentration is .20 or higher, though, then the minimum jail time is increased to seven days for a first offense.
Not only does a first-time offense result in mandatory jail time; you will also lose your license for a year. With penalties this harsh for a first DUI, it is crucial that you have aggressive legal representation. After all, you can expect the prosecution to seek the toughest penalties, which increase for every subsequent offense.
In Tennessee, a second DUI conviction results in a minimum of 45 days in jail, and you lose your license for two years. The law calls for a minimum jail sentence of 120 days for a third DUI conviction, and this results in license revocation for three years.
All of these penalties are in addition to fines that range from $350 to $1,000 for a first-time conviction; $600 to $3,500 for a second conviction; $1,100 to $10,000 for a third conviction.
The charge is upgraded to a felony if you are arrested for DUI a fourth time and you have three prior qualifying offenses.
Anyone accused of DUI in Tennessee has a lot to lose. If you’re facing a subsequent drunk driving charge in the Chattanooga area, then don’t hesitate to contact an attorney with experience in handling cases involving multiple offenses. In terms of police procedure and your rights, DUI cases are very complex, and no one should let the prosecution simply have its way.
To learn more, please see Summers, Rufolo & Rodgers‘ overview of defending against multiple DUI charges.