Summers, Rufolo & Rodgers
Call For A Free Consultation
423-933-2738
View Our Practice Areas

How much does it cost to reinstate your license after a TN DUI?

If you are convicted of a DUI offense in Tennessee, you will have your driver's license revoked for a period of time, depending on the offense and whether you have been convicted before. For example, your license could be revoked for a year on a first DUI offense or breath test refusal. In a vehicular homicide case, your license revocation could last up to 10 years.

You may have received a restricted license, but that only allows you limited driving privileges. What will you need to do to get your full privileges back once your revocation period is complete? Just as the length of your suspension depends on the offense and other factors, so does the reinstatement fee.

The fee amount changes often and is updated on the Tennessee Department of Safety website.

Reinstatement after implied consent violation (refusal to submit to a blood alcohol test)

You will need to apply for a new license and pay the standard fee. In addition, you will pay a $100 reinstatement fee. Depending on your situation, you may also be ordered to pay:

  • $50 for a filing of financial responsibility (SR-22)
  • $75 for failure to surrender your driver's license

Reinstatement after an underage drinking or Drug Free Youth Act offense

Again, you will need to apply for a new license, paying the standard license fee. Plus, you will pay a $20 reinstatement fee. You may be required to pay a $75 fee for failing to surrender your license.

Reinstatement after any other DUI offense

Once you've applied for a new license and paid the appropriate fee, you will also pay a $100 reinstatement fee. If your violation took place in Tennessee, you will also need to pay a $3 certification fee. You may be required to pay:

  • $50 for an SR-22 filing of financial responsibility
  • $75 for failing to surrender your driver's license

In other words, the maximum reinstatement fee could be $228 plus the standard fee for a new driver's license.

You could also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car. This device requires you to submit to a breath test before your car will start. If you are required to get such a device, you will have to pay for its installation, maintenance and removal, along with a recurring fee of approximately $60 to $90 per month.

If you have just been arrested for DUI, bear in mind that these fees are just for reinstatement and alcohol monitoring. You could also face jail time and substantial financial penalties. A DUI lawyer can help minimize the negative consequences of a DUI arrest.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Free Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Summers, Rufolo & Rodgers
735 Broad Street, Suite 800
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2913

Toll Free: 888-778-6575
Phone: 423-933-2738
Fax: 423-266-5211
Chattanooga Law Office Map

Review Us
735 Broad Street, Suite 800