Summers, Rufolo & Rodgers
Call For A Free Consultation
423-933-2738
View Our Practice Areas

The underage drinking and DUI penalties are serious in Tennessee

Many people disagree on the logic and effectiveness of prohibiting alcohol to people under 21. A lot of kids think that underage drinking is a rite of passage -- no big deal.

The state of Tennessee takes underage alcohol and drug use very seriously and has passed laws meant to keep users from driving under the influence. Tennessee's Drug Free Youth Act mandates a driver's license suspensions for people under 18 who are convicted of underage drinking or any sort of controlled substance offense. Underage DUI comes with a one-year license revocation for a first offense.

If you are convicted of underage possession of alcohol or any controlled substance offense, even if you weren't driving at the time, you are facing:

First offense: License suspension for either one year or until you reach 17, whichever is longer. You may apply to the court for an early withdrawal of your suspension after 90 days of suspension. You may also apply for a restricted license to get you to work and school, which will be granted at the court's discretion.

Second or subsequent offense: License suspension for two years or until you reach 18, whichever is longer. You may apply to the court for early withdrawal of your suspension after 1 year's suspension. You must serve a year of suspension before you are eligible for a restricted license.

If you're convicted of underage drunk driving under T.C.A. § 55-10-415, you face the following penalties:

  • Driver's license suspension for one (1) year
  • A fine of $250
  • Public service work, in the discretion of the court

If you are underage though, and you are convicted of DUI under T.C.A. § 55-10-401 that requires impairment or a BAC of .08 or above, the penalties you face are the first-offense drunk-driving penalties in Tennessee, which include:

  • Between 48 hours and 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • A fine of $250 to $1,500
  • License revocation for one year
  • Court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment
  • Restitution to anyone you harmed
  • Required ignition interlock on your vehicle, installed and maintained at your own expense
  • Towing, bail, court costs, treatment costs, license reinstatement costs
  • Mandatory high-risk insurance

If you rely on being able to drive, you can't afford to be found guilty of Underage DUI, DUI, or a Drug Free Youth Act offense. An attorney may be able to help you limit the negative consequences of these charges by getting them dismissed or reduced, negotiating a plea bargain, or defending you in court.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Free Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Summers, Rufolo & Rodgers
735 Broad Street, Suite 800
Chattanooga, TN 37402-2913

Toll Free: 888-778-6575
Phone: 423-933-2738
Fax: 423-266-5211
Chattanooga Law Office Map

Review Us
735 Broad Street, Suite 800