Not having a driver's license can be far more problematic than people realize. Not only can you have trouble getting to work and picking up your kids, you can also be seriously limited in when you can run errands, go to the doctor and meet friends out for dinner. You may be able to rely on public transportation and the help of friends and family, but over time these options can be expensive and tedious.
While a DUI conviction may not land a person in jail for year and years, it can most certainly mean he or she has limited driving rights. Even a first-time drunk driving offense can lead to the temporary loss of one's driver's license.
Aiming low is not a typical element of Tennessee culture. From the day we enter school, the focus is on scoring high. In nearly any sport (golf excluded) the goal is to get as many points as you can. If you are in business, success isn't gauged by how little money you make.
Driving is a privilege not a right. That's a message that gets highlighted in very stark ways when someone is accused and convicted in Tennessee of driving under the influence. And as we've noted before on this blog, it doesn't matter if the allegation involves drinking alcohol, using illegal drugs or taking over-the-counter medication.
Underage drinking is illegal in Tennessee. So is underage drinking and driving. The reason there are laws on the books that specifically address these issues is because we all know that there are instances when violations happen. Police in Chattanooga and elsewhere across the state have a lot of incentive to bring charges and obtain convictions.
It might not sound quite as bad as being arrested, but being presented with a citation in lieu of arrest is something that should be taken seriously. If you have received one, you should be contacting an experienced attorney to understand what to expect from the legal system and what your options may be.
There are plenty of situations that can lead to a person having a driver's license revoked. As we noted in a post in January, a first-time charge of driving under the influence can result in steep fines and significant jail time. And then there's the separate process under which the Tennessee Department of Safety revokes your license.
An arrest in Tennessee on charges of a DUI can be disorienting, especially if it is your first time in the criminal justice system. A DUI is a criminal offense, and depending on the circumstance and your alleged Blood alcohol Content (BAC), the severity of the penalties can range $350 to $1,500 in fines and a few days jail, up to almost a year in jail for a first offense.
Some look at Tennessee's DUI laws and believe they need to be more severe. They want the penalties to be more draconian, with larger fines and longer sentences. They look at a case of a repeat DUI charge or conviction and believe that the only reason the system failed is because the punishment was insufficient and the person did not serve sufficient time behind bars.
We have all probably heard of breath-testing devices that are used by law enforcement to determine if a driver they suspect of driving under the influence (DUI) in Tennessee has violated the 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC) limits.