People who are charged more than once with driving under the influence of alcohol can be severely penalized if they are convicted. This is because Tennessee has strict laws on the books against drunk drivers, and when a person faces multiple DUI charges, those penalties are typically compounded.
For example, a first DUI conviction in Tennessee can result in fines from $350 to $1,500, a jail sentence of at least 48 hours and a revocation of your driver’s license for a year. However, if you are facing a second DUI conviction, those fines increase anywhere from $600 to $3,500. You can also be jailed a minimum of 45 days and have your license revoked for two years. If you have been convicted of DUI for a third time, your fine ranges between $1,100 and $10,000, and you can be sentenced to at least 120 days in jail and your license can be revoked for six years.
For these reasons, it is important to hire an attorney who will pursue defenses that could lead to a reduction of charges or even a dismissal. There may be reasons to challenge the stop, challenge the field sobriety tests, or challenge the chemical tests. These challenges could lead to the suppression of evidence and dismissal of the case.
Any DUI, especially a second or third DUI conviction, can affect your life for many years. Our page on multiple DUIs can provide you with more information on what we might be able to do if you find yourself in this position.